Top 5 Supply Chain Management Certifications

Top 5 Supply Chain Management Certifications


Supply chain management is a fast-growing profession. The survey conducted by the Association for Supply Chain Management (APICS) established that a high percentage of the people surveyed were very content with their careers in the field of SCM.

But it is not an easy leap to establish a successful career in supply chain management. Professionals in the field are known for their rich skills and admirable expertise. They have an undeterred knowledge of systems, processes, people, timelines, production, and partners involved in the field of the supply chain. This, therefore, points to the need to acquire the relevant credentials to acquire proficiency in the domain of SCM. The aspiring professionals are given various options to choose from among the different supply chain management certifications. These certifications play a significant role in promoting your eligibility thereby promising good earnings. 

If you are someone preparing to set foot in the field of supply chain management, here are seven Supply Chain Certifications that will help you advance your career in SCM: 

1. APICS Certified Supply Chain Professional certification (CSCP)

In order to appear for the CSCP exam, the candidate is required to possess related work experience of 3 years and a bachelor's degree in the field. Once the certification is attained it is important for the professionals to earn a total of 75 professional development points every five years. Failure in doing so will lead to the expiration before the 10-year mark resulting in the retaking of the exam. 

The CSCP certification proves your prowess in the current essential strategies, concepts, and supply chain management technology. With the acquired credentials you will be eligible to apply in different industries such as distribution, healthcare, defense, education, government, consulting, manufacturing, etc. 

2. APICS Certified in Production and Inventory Management (CPIM)

To acquire this certification you will have to pass two exams within three years. The CPIM part 1 exam deals with the fundamentals of supply chain management, while CPIM part 2 exam focuses on management, planning, and scheduling of resources and overall operations.

The certification thus acquired needs to be maintained every five years by completing 75 development points. In case the certification is suspended, the candidate will have to submit an extra 15 points. 

3. ISM Certified Professional in Supply Management (CPSM)

The Institute for Supply Management (ISM) provides certification that proves your expertise in supply management. In order to appear for the exam, you need to have a prior three years of experience in the domain of supply chain management. Once the required experience is met, the candidates will need to clear three exams that can be taken in any order.

Once the certification is attained, the candidates will have to maintain and renew it every four years by attaining  60 hours of approved continuing education credits. 

4. Project Management Professional (PMP)

PMP certificate is considered to be among the most desired project manager certifications in the industry. The acquisition of this certificate demonstrates your credential for becoming an effective project manager. In order to be eligible to sit for the exam, the candidate must have either of these:

  • ➤ A Bachelor's degree and a three-year of work experience in leading projects. 
  • ➤ The candidate can also have a CAPM certification or 35 hours of training in project management.
  • ➤ A high school diploma with 5 years of work experience in leading projects. 

This particular exam consists of 200 questions. On completion, the candidate will have to maintain the certification by earning 60 professional development units (PDUs) over the course of three years. 

5. Certified Six Sigma Black Belt (CSSBB)

The  Six Sigma Black Belt certification can be earned from different organizations. The candidates learn the basic principles, philosophies, tools, and systems related to the field.  This exam can be taken as a written test or on the computer. 

The acquisition of this certificate will prove your competence in the understanding of the Six Sigma define, measure, analyze, improve and control (DMAIC) model and foundational knowledge of the concepts of lean enterprise. For the successful completion of this certificate, the candidate must at least complete one Six Sigma project with a signed affidavit. Along with this, it is also important to have a prior 3-year experience.

Once the certificate is attained, the candidates should make sure to renew it by either earning 18 recertification units (RUs) or retaking the exam. A certification in supply chain management can go a long way in furthering an individual’s career goals and plans. This is a highly recommended certification for those who wish to build a career in the sphere of supply chain management. And if you are in Dubai, you have no dearth of options to attain these certifications. 

Message from the Author

If you’re looking to enrol for any Logistics & Supply Chain training in Dubai, get in touch with Learners Point Academy. To learn more, visit the website:, give a call at +971 (04) 403 8000, or simply drop a message on WhatsApp.

Learners Point Academy is a KHDA and ISO 9001:2015 accredited training institute in Dubai.

  • Big Data on AWS
  • Cyber Security

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published.